Mandated Testing

California Standardized Testing and Reporting STAR Program

The Standardized Testing and Reporting (STAR) Program is an important part of the state testing system. Administered annually in the spring, the STAR Program was authorized in 1997 by state law to measure how well students are learning the knowledge and skills identified in the California academic standards.

All students in grades two through eleven take the STAR Program tests, including students who are English learners and students with disabilities. Only students whose parents/guardians have submitted written requests to exempt them from STAR Program testing do not take the tests.

The STAR program consists of four tests:

California Standards Tests (CSTs) that were developed specifically for California public schools to assess students’ knowledge of the California academic content standards. The state academic standards specify what all California children are expected to know and be able to do in each grade or course.

The CSTs are aligned with state academic standards in English language arts (grades 2-11), mathematics (grades 2-11), history-social science (grades 8, 10, and 11), science (grades 5, 9, 10 and 11) and writing (grades 4 and 7). Except for the writing component that is administered as part of the grade four and seven English-language arts tests, all questions are multiple choice.

We anticipate the 2008-2009 CSTs will include the following tests at the listed grade levels or as identified by coursework:

All Students in Grades 2 – 11 English-Language Arts
All Students in Grades 2 – 9 Mathematics
All Students in Grade 5 Science
Grade 8 – 11 students who completed Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II, or Integrated Mathematics 1, 2, or 3
Grade 8 and 9 students who did not complete one of the above math courses during the school year General Mathematics
Grade 9 and 10 students who completed Algebra II or Integrated Mathematics 3 during the previous grade and grade 11 students who completed Algebra II or Integrated Mathematics 3 anytime before testing began, including students taking higher mathematics courses or no mathematics course Summative High School Mathematics
All Students in Grades 8, 10, and 11 History-Social Science
Grade 9 – 11 students who completed Earth Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, or Integrated/Coordinated Science Courses
  • California Achievement Tests, Sixth Edition Survey (CAT/6), tests basic academic knowledge and skills in key subjects taught nationwide and provide national comparisons for grades 3 and 7 in reading and language, spelling, and mathematics.
  • California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA) was developed for students with significant cognitive disabilities and is based on a subset of the state academic standards. The CAPA is administered in grades 2-11. LWCS only has a few students that take the CAPA.
  • Aprenda, for Spanish-speaking English Learners who have been enrolled in a California public school less than 12 months, is a basic skills test in Spanish. LWCS currently does not have any students that fit this criterion.

© 2013. Public Works Group. All Rights Reserved.